2017 CGA Annual Meeting & Breakfast

More than 800 damage prevention stakeholders gathered in Orlando on March 15 for CGA ’s 2017 Annual Meeting and Breakfast. Thank you to all who traveled to Orlando for the 12th Annual CGA 811 Excavation Safety Conference & Expo and helped make the meeting a remarkable success.

CGA Award Recipients
Hall of Fame
Each year, the Hall of Fame designation is given to CGA members who have served the organization for a long period of time and whose impact has left its mark in a positive and
memorable way. CGA was honored to induct Bob Kipp, who is retiring as CGA’s first – and until now, only – president, into its Hall of Fame this year, following his 17 years of dedicated service to the organization and the damage prevention industry. Bob’s legacy as a bridge builder and leader of diverse groups of people, combined with his vision, has made CGA what it is today. The CGA will continue to build on the strong foundation built by Bob and launch the next decade of damage prevention.

President’s Corp orate Excellence Award
The Pipelines and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) was presented with the eighth annual President’s Corporate Excellence Award by CGA President Bob Kipp. The President’s Award is given annually to a company or organization that has shown leadership and innovation in support of damage prevention during the previous year. From sponsoring the original Common Ground study that served as CGA’s foundation to its funded establishment of our organization and its continued growth through cooperative agreement funding, PHMSA has played a pivotal role in CGA’s impact on damage prevention. The administration’s com-mitment to shared responsibility is evident in its promotion of CGA’s efforts and  campaigns, its staff members service on each of CGA’s committees and its continual elevation of our programs.

Ron Olitsky Member of the Year Awards
Presented each year to CGA members whose cation and service to the organization went above and beyond the call of duty throughout the year, Michael Muilenberg of USIC and Thomas Young of SeeScan were given this year’s Ron Olitsky Member of the Year Awards by Tommy Hicks, a CGA board member representing the International Association of Fire Chiefs. Michael and Thomas have assumed the co-chairmanship of CGA’s Technology Committee, revitalizing the group’s mission and purpose, and energizing its membership. Together, they led the effort to have CGA submit a damage prevention technology study as part of the 2016 Pipeline Safety Reauthorization bill.

Jim Barr on Awards
Jemmie Wang (BizMetrix) and Mark Stowe (M & J Landscape Design Group) were honored
with this year’s Jim Barron Awards in recognition of their true dedication to efforts enhancing
underground damage prevention. Current Data Reporting and Evaluation co-chair Bob Terjesen presented former committee co-chair Jemmie with the award, citing Jemmie’s tireless work and analysis on CGA’s DIRT program, and particularly its annual report. Kentucky 811’s Tim Vaughn presented the Jim Barron Award to fellow Kentuckian Mark, who has supported innovative damage prevention outreach for years with his 811 Bass Boat,
hunting and fishing programming and partnerships with Kentucky 811.

811 Video Challenge Awards
CGA presented three awards for its 811 Video Challenge submissions at the annual meeting
and breakfast, in addition to screening the winning videos. Shell Pipeline Company LP
took home the award for Corporate Partnerships, USA North 811 was awarded as the Most
Impactful and South Carolina 811 won in the Visionary category. An additional People’s
Choice award went to Texas811 by popular vote at the 811 10th Anniversary Celebration.
Finalists in the People’s Choice category included Miss Utility of Maryland/D.C., Rhino
Marking and Protection Systems, North Carolina 811 and the American Gas Association.
Thanks to all 37 CGA Members and Sponsors who participated!
Former Louisiana congressman and current Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association
president Chris John delivered the keynote address at the annual meeting. Mr. John recalled his pivotal involvement in securing the nation’s first call before you dig number designation from the Federal Communications Commissions during his time representing Louisiana’s seventh district in Congress.

Committee Recognition
CGA Committee co-chairs provided attendees with an overview of their collaborative efforts towards reducing damages to underground facilities. In addition to the co-chairs listed below,
special thanks go out to all of those who serve on committees and are the driving force behind the success of CGA’s core programs:

Best Practices
Scott Berry, AGC
Mark Newman, TransCanada

Data Reporting and Evaluation
Bruce Campbell, Miss Dig System, Inc.
Bob Terjesen, National Grid

Educational Programs
Kim Kosky, UtiliQuest
Lee Richards, Ohio Utilities Protection Service

OCSI Committee
Kevin Hopper, Dig Safely New York
Ellen Kiger, Pennsylvania 811

Stakeholder Advocacy
Allen Gray, Carolinas AGC
Eric Swartley, UGI Utilities

Michael Muilenburg, USIC
Thomas Young, SeeScan

Regional Partner
Tracey Bryant, Vectren
Steve Light, Virginia 811

To those who were able to make it to Orlando this year, thank you. Complete information about the event can be found at cgaconference.com.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *